Massive Demonstration at Jantar Mantar Against Attacks on Media persons


New Delhi, September 11: Indian Federation of Working Journalists (IFWJ) today held a massive demonstration at Jantar Mantar to protest the increasing incidences of attacks on journalists. It was demanded that those who found guilty of attacking journalists or creating hindrance in their works should be meted out the stringent punishment, which will serve deterrent for others. Hundreds of demonstrators were shouting slogans for to punishment to those who are responsible for the killings of Gauri Lankesh of Bengaluru, Ram Chandra Chhatrapati of Sirsa, Rajesh Ranjan of Bihar and many others by the goons and anti-social elements. The IFWJ has asked the Central and State Governments to provide adequate compensation to those journalists who have been attacked and whose cameras have been damaged in Sirsa, Panchkula, Gurugram and other places.

There was a huge and spontaneous response to the call of IFWJ’s protest demonstration at Jantar Mantar. Media persons from Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Delhi poured in at Jantar Mantar to express their solidarity for the protest demonstration.

The IFWJ Vice-President Shri Hemant Tiwari emphasized the protest of the journalists would continue and expanded throughout the country, if the steps were not taken by the government for the safety of the journalists by enacting appropriate law. IFWJ Secretary General Parmanand Pandey said that although it is not possible to provide safety cover to all journalists because they have to work under such condition where if they go under police cover it would make their life more risky and hazardous.

Among others who addressed the demonstration were IFWJ’s Secretary Shri Randeep Ghangas, IFWJ Treasurer Shri Rinku Yadav, Shri Rajendra K. Gautam, seniour journalist, Bhante Buddhakirti, the editor of Virat Swaroop, Shri Alkshendra Singh Negi of DUWJ, Shri Mangat Ram Sharma, Shri Shri Mangal Kumar of Dainik Bhaskar, Shri Prem Nath Pandey, the photo editor of the Indian Express, Shri Chandra Kant Pandey and Shri H.P. Chandra of the Times of India.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here